When I check the situation I see something wrong with it

Forgot to post this:

When I check the situation I see something wrong with it
Telling us to come back

And providing no jobs is like leading me to the slaughter

Knowing there are thousands of youth who cannot earn a buck

When the only opportunity I will get will be to wait for BenWandawanda every morning

Just so he can hook me up with an interview

None of us want to kakamila kwa eni

Working the kind of jobs we would not even dream of pa deni

When I check the situation there’s something wrong with it

A decade after college I am over qualified

And they bar me from taking the bar

While I was downing five pound pitchers

And posting bullshit pictures

On facebook to bullshit how awesome my life is

They were busy making up bullshit laws to get me back for making it to Cambridge while they made do with learning ’24 reasons to strike, choose 1′ ku Chanco

They say I am not patriotic because I have not been back in twenty years

And yet I am expected to pay fees for all four of each of my four sisters’ kids

When I visit, my old friends invite me out and I foot not only their bill but that of the forty friends they have brought along kudzadyanawo ma dolla kapena ma pounds

I am supposed to play the role of big man ‘n’ boss

That I’ve created for myself

With all those pictures of the chrysler I bought on credit

When I check the situation there’s something wrong with it

I see them giving the woman safe motherhood to bring another youth into the world to kill him with unemployment

I see with all the highways he built he never thought to build a little way for the youth to earn a buck

I see free education means wa form two teaching me MSCE modules

Poor teaching means 11% pass rate

And the biggerheads’ disappointment in ‘the youth of today’ makes headline news

While they secretly breathe sighs of relief because university can only take 7%

When I check the situation I see something wrong with it

 

This entry was posted in Writings From My Latter Youth Years and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

